Fiba awards hosting rights for Olympic qualifying tournaments

The International Basketball Federation (Fiba) has awarded hosting rights to Italy, Serbia and the Philippines for its three Olympic men’s qualifying tournaments, while France will stage the women’s event.

Teams from Serbia, France, Greece, Italy, the Czech Republic, Canada, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Angola, Tunisia, Senegal, the Philippines, Iran, Japan, New Zealand, Latvia, Croatia and Turkey will take part in the three men’s qualifying tournaments from July 4-10.

The respective host countries have chosen Turin, Belgrade and Manila to stage the events from which only the champions of each six-team tournament will qualify for this summer’s Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Games host nation Brazil, along with the United States, Australia, Nigeria, Venezuela, Argentina, Spain, Lithuania and China, have already qualified.

The French city of Nantes will host the women’s tournament from June 13-19. Argentina, Belarus, Cameroon, China, Cuba, France, Korea, New Zealand, Nigeria, Spain, Turkey and Venezuela will compete for five places at Rio 2016.