Eleven teams confirmed for new pro soccer league in US

A new professional US soccer league aligned with the National Premier Soccer League (NPSL) was officially announced on Thursday.

The 11 founding members include ASC San Diego, Cal FC, California United Strikers FC,  Chattanooga FC, Detroit City FC, FC Arizona, Miami FC, Miami United FC, Milwaukee Torrent, New York Cosmos and Oakland Roots.

These clubs will compete in the inaugural NPSL Founders Cup, which will run from August to November 2019 and will be followed by a full league schedule, playing from the spring to autumn of 2020.

Several of the clubs will also field teams in the semi-professional NPSL next year prior to the Founders Cup.

Details about the format, player roster information and schedule will be announced later this year while plans are being developed to add additional clubs.

Most recent

Browning has marred thousands of once-valuable autographed baseballs, with the precise cause of the damage still unknown. Dennis Tuttle examines the impact on the baseball collectibles market

Dead since 1995, the revered Hall of Famer still commands a lofty position among baseball memorabilia collectors

Callum McCarthy looks at the various ways in which lesser-known European host cities are benefiting from staging a variety of international esports competitions.

Adam Nelson reports on how the International Cricket Council revamped its broadcast coverage ahead of the 2019 Cricket World Cup, focusing on storytelling to attract new audiences and break digital engagement records