Dutch city to host hockey’s final Champions Trophy

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has awarded hosting rights for this year’s men’s Champions Trophy to the Dutch city of Breda.

The event will be held at De Bredase Hockey and Bandy Club from June 23 to July 1. It will be contested by the national teams of Argentina, Australia, Belgium, India, the Netherlands and Pakistan.

The Netherlands qualify for the event as the host nation, while Argentina has been handed a spot as the defending Olympic champion. Australia has qualified as the reigning World Cup, World League and Champions Trophy champion. Belgium, India and Pakistan have been invited to take part by the FIH Executive Board.

Dutch financial services company Rabobank will serve as title sponsor of the event. The tournament will officially be known as the Men’s Rabobank Hockey Champions Trophy Breda 2018.

This year’s event will mark the last edition of the men’s Champions Trophy, with the tournament set to be replaced by the Hockey Pro League from 2019.

The FIH also confirmed that a warm-up event for the Women’s World Cup would be held in Breda alongside the men’s Champions Trophy. The ‘Rabobank 4-Nations Trophy Women’ will run at the same venue from June 26-30 and will be contested by the Netherlands, China, Japan and Spain.