The ICC CWC 2007 Inc board of directors at its meeting in St Kitts last week approved the issuance of the ‘notice to proceed’ to the eight venues – Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia and Trinidad & Tobago.

Following the award of matches on July 13, qualifying for the ‘notice to proceed’ was the next major hurdle for host venues that had to satisfy the board of progress in several areas that would indicate a clear transition from bid committee to local organising committee (LOC).

These areas include stadium and event overlay plans and construction schedules, for what is the world’s third largest sporting event.

Managing director and CEO, ICC CWC WI 2007 Inc, Chris Dehring, said: “We have seen commitment and a great deal of progress from all of the countries since the first overlay meeting in Kingston during the first week of August.”

Venue development director, Donald Lockerbie, described the work of the LOC’s and their stadium design teams collectively as “an excellent team in the making”.

“The LOC’s have some of the best architects in the region and some of the top sports architects in the world contracted to design state-of-the-art venues with the vital input of the knowledge of the game from cricket experts in each host country,” Lockerbie noted.