Cricket legends sign on for BCCI-backed T20 league

Sachin Tendulkar is seen during the 2019 Indian Premier League Final between the Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings (by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has given its blessing to a new annual Twenty20 competition that will feature legends of the sport such as India’s Sachin Tendulkar and the West Indies’ Brian Lara.

The Road Safety World Series will be staged in India from February 2-16, featuring teams representing the host nation, along with Australia, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies.

Designed to promote the message of road safety, Indian news agency IANS said the BCCI has issued a no-objection certificate to organisers, allowing the new league to proceed as an annual event. The competition will reportedly be held across leading stadia in India.

IANS said the World Series is being promoted by Swach Bharat Surakshit Bharat, a trust working closely with the Regional Transport Office of the state of Maharashtra and has been developed by the Professional Management Group (PMG).

Media company Viacom 18 has signed on as the broadcast partner, with telco Jio and Voot, the subscription video on demand service owned by Viacom 18, serving as digital partners.

As well as playing in the tournament, Tendulkar, the all-time leading run scorer in Test and one-day international cricket, will serve as a brand ambassador of the Road Safety World Series.

Fellow former India batsman Virender Sehwag, Australia’s Brett Lee, Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan and South Africa’s Jonty Rhodes have also reportedly committed to the league.