Copa América to remain a 10-team tournament

Brazil celebrate winning the 2019 Copa America (by Kaz Photography/Getty Images)

The South American Football Confederation (Conmebol) has announced that the 2021 Copa América will remain a 10-team tournament following the exits of Australia and Qatar, after confirming the fixture and venue plans for the postponed event.

Australia and Qatar last month withdrew from the Copa América as the tournament clashes with rescheduled dates for the qualifying competitions run by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) for the 2022 World Cup and 2023 Asian Cup.

You need to have an account to access our content

Find out more about our news, features and services

Already have an account? Sign in here