Cardiff, Kansas City added to International Champions Cup line-up

The host cities for this year’s International Champions Cup have been confirmed, with Cardiff’s Principality Stadium and Kansas City’s Arrowhead Stadium having been added to the venue line-up for the first time.

This year’s edition of the tournament, which is organised by Relevent Sports, will feature 12 clubs playing 18 matches across the US, Europe and Asia. The tournament is scheduled to run from July 16 to August 10.

The ICC will include English Premier League clubs Manchester United, Tottenham Hotspur and Arsenal; Italian Serie A sides Juventus, AS Roma, AC Milan and Inter Milan; Spanish LaLiga rivals Real Madrid and Atlético Madrid; German Bundesliga club Bayern Munich; Portuguese Primeira Liga team Benfica and, for the first time, Mexican Liga MX outfit Chivas.

Like last year, each team will play three matches and the club with the most points at the end of the tournament will win the championship. Each regulation win will award three points, while draws will be decided on a penalty shootout, with the winning team to receive two points and the losing team to receive one.

In the US, matches will be played in New York/New Jersey, Los Angeles, Washington DC, Chicago, Charlotte, Santa Clara, Houston, Arlington, Boston and the aforementioned Kansas City. Cardiff, London, Stockholm, Singapore and Shanghai will also stage matches.

Tottenham’s new stadium will also host a match when the Premier League club faces Inter Milan on August 4.

The tournament kicks off with AS Roma vs Chivas on July 16 at Chicago’s SeatGeek Stadium and concludes on August 10 with Atlético Madrid vs Juventus at Stockholm’s Friends Arena.

Most recent

Budapest has turned the setback of its unsuccessful 2024 Olympics bid into an opportunity that is driving growth and change across the city.

Matt Carroll, chief executive of the Australian Olympic Committee, tells Adam Nelson how a focus on athlete engagement, grassroots participation and community schemes has helped to boost the AOC’s commercial programme throughout the Olympic cycle.

The decision by the ATP Council not to renew Chris Kermode's contract as ATP executive chairman and president caused surprise when it was announced in March. Ben Cronin speaks to the outgoing tennis chief about his record.

A Ukranian billionaire is funding the latest effort to turn swimming into a regular competitive professional sport and not just one of the most popular events at the Summer Olympics.