Bubka and Coe confirmed for IAAF presidential election

The International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) has today (Friday) confirmed that Lord Sebastian Coe and Sergey Bubka will be the only two candidates in August’s presidential election.

As expected, Bubka and Coe’s names were included in a final list of candidates for IAAF positions released on Friday. Bubka has also put his name down as a candidate for one of the four vice-president’s seats. Coe is only entered for president.

Former Olympic pole vault champion Bubka has outlined his intention to revamp the business model of athletics and review the World Championships, if he is successful in his bid to become president of the IAAF.

Bubka confirmed in January that he will run to succeed current president Lamine Diack, who will step down after 16 years in the role. The Ukrainian faces competition from Coe, who, like Bubka, currently serves as a vice-president of the IAAF and has also confirmed his intention to run for the presidency.

Bubka currently leads his country’s National Olympic Committee and serves as an International Olympic Committee (IOC) member. In 2013, he made an unsuccessful run for the IOC presidency, losing out to now-president Thomas Bach.

Coe unveiled his vision for the future of the IAAF in December, including reform of the global athletics calendar, the introduction of a ‘Street Athletics’ series and greater engagement with the youth market.

The double Olympic gold medal-winner, who chaired the organising committee for the London 2012 summer Olympic and Paralympic Games, has based his manifesto on the four key pillars of change for a better future, decentralisation and empowerment, maximising commercial growth and integrity and trust.

Coe, who won gold medals in the 1500m at the 1980 and 1984 Olympics, has been a vice-president of the IAAF since 2007. He was credited with being a crucial player in London’s winning bid for the 2012 Games and was a key driver behind an athletics track being retained at London’s Olympic Stadium after the conclusion of the Games.

Elections will take place on the first day of the 50th IAAF Congress scheduled to be held in Beijing, China on August 19-20.