Beirut and Bengaluru to host new Fiba events

The Asian division of the International Basketball Federation (Fiba) has announced that the Lebanese capital of Beirut and the Indian city of Bengaluru will host the inaugural editions of new national team tournaments.

The first-ever Fiba Asia Cup will be played from August 17-27 in Beirut. Sixteen men’s teams, including Australia and New Zealand, will compete. The top 14 teams from this event will then be joined by two teams to be decided by the Fiba’s regional office and compete in Division A of the global governing body’s New Competition System.

The inaugural Women’s Asia Cup will be held from July 23-29 in Bengaluru. Australia and New Zealand will face Asian champions Japan, as well as China, South Korea, Chinese Taipei, DPR Korea and the Philippines in Division A. Six more teams, including hosts India, will go head to head in Division B in a bid to earn promotion to Division A for the next edition of the tournament.

In other news, it was announced that the 2017 Asia Champions Cup will be played in Shenzhen, China from September 22-30. The premier club basketball event in Asia will feature the domestic league champions from 10 national federations in Asia.

“The 2017 Fiba events in Asia mark a new era for basketball competitions in the continent,” Fiba’s executive director for Asia, Hagop Khajirian, said. “For the first time in history, Australia and New Zealand will compete with Asian teams in all five events that will take place this year. While this adds a new level to the depth of the competitions, we also expect the events themselves to become more attractive to the fans across these two Fiba regions.”