Basketball Africa League announces inaugural host cities, Nike partnership

The host cities have been named for the inaugural Basketball Africa League, the NBA and Fiba’s new tournament in the continent which is scheduled to begin play in March 2020.

They are: Cairo (Egypt), Dakar (Senegal), Lagos (Nigeria), Luanda (Angola), Rabat (Morocco) and either Monastir or Tunis (Tunisia). The BAL Final Four and Final will be played in Kigali (Rwanda).

Twelve teams from across Africa will be divided into two conferences, each comprised of three cities. The top three teams in each conference will qualify for the round-robin play-offs, which will determine the Final Four.

It was also announced that Nike and Jordan Brand will jointly supply the teams with official game uniforms, warm-up apparel, socks and practice gear – with six teams featured in Nike and the other six in Jordan Brand.

NBA commissioner Adam Silver has described the league – the NBA’s first outside of North America – as “an important next step in our continued development of the game of basketball in Africa”.

Most recent

Browning has marred thousands of once-valuable autographed baseballs, with the precise cause of the damage still unknown. Dennis Tuttle examines the impact on the baseball collectibles market

Dead since 1995, the revered Hall of Famer still commands a lofty position among baseball memorabilia collectors

Callum McCarthy looks at the various ways in which lesser-known European host cities are benefiting from staging a variety of international esports competitions.

Adam Nelson reports on how the International Cricket Council revamped its broadcast coverage ahead of the 2019 Cricket World Cup, focusing on storytelling to attract new audiences and break digital engagement records