Bangladesh set to host SAFF Championship, new club competition

The South Asian Football Federation has awarded hosting rights for the 2017 edition of its SAFF Championship to Bangladesh, while the country is also set to stage a new club competition.

The decision to award the next edition of the SAFF’s showpiece national team tournament was taken at a board meeting in the Sri Lankan city of Colombo. The 2015 SAFF Championship ran from December 23 to January 3 this year and was won for the seventh time by host nation India.

Meanwhile, the SAFF has said it is planning a new eight-team competition featuring clubs from its member nations of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, the Maldives, Nepal, Bhutan and Sri Lanka.

SAFF vice-president Ranjith Rodrigo told Sri Lankan newspaper the Sunday Times:  “SAFF will inaugurate an eight-team inter-club tournament known as the SAFF Club Cup, where each country will feature its respective champion domestic team, with the host country getting to field a second team.

“We discussed matters pertaining to the tournament… at the SAFF meeting, and it was decided that Bangladesh would host the inaugural competition.”