ATP says ‘Big Four’ committed to inaugural ATP Cup in January

(Francois Nel/Getty Images)

Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic and Andy Murray have all committed to play in the inaugural ATP Cup in Australia next January, in a significant boost for the new nation-based event.

The ATP announced the first 19 countries to qualify for the team tournament following the first-round deadline last Friday. Qualification is based on the current ATP men’s singles rankings, although host Australia has been given a wild card. Great Britain has qualified by virtue of Andy Murray’s protected ranking of number two in the world.

You need to have an account to access our content

Find out more about our news, features and services

Already have an account? Sign in here