HomeNewsFan EngagementEsportsUSA

Atlanta United, DC United and FC Cincinnati join expanded eMLS Cup

The 2019 eMLS Cup will feature 22 of the 24 Major League Soccer teams, with Atlanta United, DC United and expansion club FC Cincinnati participating for the first time.

As well as adding more teams, the esports competition – which is played on PlayStation 4 – is adding more events. The two-part eMLS League Series will join anchor events, the eMLS Cup and eMLS All-Star Challenge.

League Series One will be hosted by the LA Galaxy in January, while League Series Two will be hosted by FC Dallas in February. Player performance across the two events will determine seeding for the eMLS Cup.

EMLS is an Official League Partner of the EA Sports Fifa 19 Global Series. Last year eMLS had six players qualify for the Global Series Playoffs in Amsterdam, with Sporting Kansas City’s competitor advancing to the 2018 Fifa eWorld Cup in London.

James Ruth, MLS senior director of properties and events, said the eMLS Cup initiatives will “push us closer to our goal of blurring the lines between traditional and digital soccer, while further elevating eMLS in the global Fifa competitive gaming community”.